• 0
    As Canada’s fourth largest crop, barley is an important part of the national agricultural landscape. It’s a key component in beer production, which generates 5.8 billion in the economy, and much of it is exported to international markets. Nine out of 10 barley farmers rely on exports for a significant part of their income.
  • 0
    Sometimes the seeds of a great career in engineering lie in a project studying seeds themselves — or the technology that helps farmers plant them.
  • 0
    Mitacs intern Oldooz Pooyanfar, a graduate student from Simon Fraser University’s School of Mechatronic Systems Engineering, is working on a ‘smart’ system that monitors the health of honey bees and their hives.
  • 0
    When InteliRain CEO Cam Cote realised that wind was thwarting the efficiency of his sprinklers, he turned to a University of Alberta mathematician to develop an innovative solution through a Mitacs internship.
  • 0
    Determined to meet new standards for food traceability, Allan Campbell sought a technology-based solution to improve record keeping and management of his entire beekeeping operation.
  • 0
    “By collaborating with other businesses and customers at the local level who share my values, I hope to develop locally-oriented solutions to food security. I see cooperation as key to establishing a local food industry that rivals the global industrial food system.”
  • 0
    One of the truly unique aspects of the Mitacs Elevate program is the availability of professional development workshops. As a career student, I had rarely been exposed to a formal work environment and these courses have been truly beneficial to my development as a researcher.

• 0
    Au titre de la quatrième plus importante culture du Canada, l’orge est une partie importante du paysage agricole national. C’est une composante clé de la production de bière qui génère 5,8 milliards de dollars dans l’économie dont une grande partie est exportée vers les marchés internationaux. Neuf agriculteurs d’orge sur dix dépendent des exportations pour une partie importante de leur revenu.
  • 0
    Quelques fois, les graines d’une grande carrière en génie sont dans un projet qui étudie les graines elles-mêmes, ou la technologie qui aide les agriculteurs à les semer.
  • 0
    Oldooz Pooyanfar, étudiante des cycles supérieurs à l’École d’ingénierie de systèmes mécatroniques de l’Université Simon Fraser travaille sur un système « intelligent » qui surveille la santé des abeilles domestiques et leurs ruches.
  • 0
    Lorsque le PDG d’InteliRain, Cam Cote a réalisé que le vent contrecarrait l’efficacité de ses gicleurs, il s’est tourné vers un mathématicien de l’Université de l’Alberta pour développer une solution innovatrice à l’aide d’un stage Mitacs.
  • 0
    Décidé à respecter les nouvelles normes en matière de traçabilité alimentaire, l’apiculteur en chef Allan Campbell a cherché une solution technologique qui permettrait d’améliorer la tenue des dossiers et la gestion de l’ensemble de ses activités d’apiculture.
  • 0
    L’un des aspects uniques du programme Mitacs Élévation est la disponibilité des ateliers de développement des compétences professionnelles. Comme ma carrière se résume à peu près à mes études, j’avais très rarement eu l’occasion de travailler dans un environnement de travail « officiel » avant mon stage, et les ateliers du programme ont largement contribué au développement de mes aptitudes pour la recherche industrielle.