Wearable tech takes the heat off wildfire-fighting pilots

Now, a team of Mitacs researchers is working to understand the risks involved with aerial firefighting and is developing customized wearable and in-flight technologies that could improve pilot safety during wildfire seasons. Their goal: develop a system to monitor a pilot’s physical and cognitive conditions using the latest in wearable technologies to empower the pilot and flight operations to only deploy when it’s safe to fly.

Kids with heart disease hit the court

That’s why Angelica jumped at the opportunity to research physical literacy programs for kids with CHD through a Mitacs internship.  She partnered with Sportball, a non-competitive sports education organization that offers methodology-based instruction for kids aged 16 months to 12 years old. Sportball programs across Canada work on developing children’s physical literacy while focusing on important sport, social, and motor skills.

Mystery or romance? How Big Data can help you pick your next book

Kobo’s Big Data Director Darius Braziunas says he knew early on that to stay competitive in the e-book world Kobo would need to collaborate with university researchers to take their products to the next level.

'Scan-to-skate' technology brings customized comfort to the ice

A new research project between Anne-Laure Ménard, a postdoctoral fellow based at Laboratoire d’Imagerie Orthopédique (LIO) at Hopital du Sacré-Coeur in Montreal, and sports equipment company CCM Hockey is integrating biomedical engineering and skate design to provide customized hockey skates. The project began when Anne-Laure started looking into industry opportunities as she was nearing the end of her PhD at Polytechnique Montréal. “I reached out to a professor at École de téchnologie supérieure who happened to be in contact with CCM Hockey,” she explains.

Cracking the genetic code of high performance athletes

As a former varsity athlete and PhD scholar in biochemistry and molecular biology, Jeremy has always balanced a passion for sport with his profession as a genetics researcher. The idea of combining the two into a company began to take shape during a Mitacs Accelerate internship.

Shielding the brain from injury

Despite the use of helmets, contact sports such as football and hockey account for a high number of TBIs. Given the popularity of these sports, how can we improve the players’ safety?

Taking up the challenge of helmet safety

It was 2010 and Daniel Abram had started a postdoctoral fellowship in mechatronic systems engineering at Simon Fraser University. Originally from Iran, Daniel was challenged by his supervisor, Dr. Farid Golnaraghi, to find a way to make sport helmets safer.

Cultivating children’s creativity

Kibooco (short for “Kids Book Company”) Interactive is a technology startup whose aim is to encourage children’s creativity by developing an online e-book tool where children can create their own virtual and physical storybooks.  Being a small company with limited research resources, Kibooco reached out to the Mitacs-Accelerate program for support and expertise – and found Allen.

At the heart of the Quartier des spectacles’ projections

The company which conceives, produces and communicates commercial, event-related, museum-based and artistic experiences to touch, amaze and surprise, specializes in the production and projection of living imagery and soundscapes feels inspired by the possibilities the newly implanted art-and-culture dedicated architectural space at the heart of Montréal’s downtown core, and hopes to showcase its world-renowned know-how there, as it does at New York’s Metropolitan Opera where it is responsible for the scene effects in Robert Lepage’s production of Wagner’s cycle, or by making sparks fly unde

De la technologie prêt-à-porter à l’aide des pilotes qui luttent contre les feux de forêt

Une équipe de chercheurs de Mitacs travaille actuellement à comprendre les risques de la lutte aérienne aux incendies et déploie des technologies sur mesure prêt-à-porter et de bord qui pourraient améliorer la sécurité des pilotes pendant les saisons de feux de forêt. Leur but : élaborer un système pour surveiller les conditions physiques et cognitives du pilote à l’aide des plus récentes technologies prêt-à-porter pour outiller le pilote et les opérations aériennes à faire des déploiements uniquement lorsqu’il est sécuritaire de voler.

Des jeunes avec des maladies du cœur font du sport

C’est ce qui l’a menée à sauter sur l’occasion d’étudier les programmes de connaissances physiques pour les enfants avec une cardiopathie congénitale par l’entremise d’un stage de Mitacs. Elle a collaboré avec Sportball, un organisme non compétitif d’éducation sportive qui offre de la formation fondée sur la méthodologie aux jeunes de 16 mois à 12 ans. Les programmes de Sportball à travers le Canada ont pour but de développer les capacités physiques des enfants tout en se concentrant sur d’importantes capacités sportives, sociales et motrices.

Mystère ou roman d’amour? Comment les données volumineuses peuvent vous aider à choisir votre prochain livre

Le directeur des données volumineuses de Kobo, Darius Braziunas dit qu’il a su très rapidement que pour rester compétitif dans le monde des livres numériques, Kobo aurait besoin de collaborer avec des chercheurs universitaires afin de faire évoluer leurs produits.

Une technologie « scan au patin » offre du confort sur mesure à la patinoire

Un nouveau projet de recherche entre Anne-Laure Ménard, une chercheure postdoctorale au Laboratoire de recherche en imagerie et orthopédie (LIO) de l’Hôpital du Sacré-Cœur à Montréal et la compagnie d’équipement de sport CCM Hockey intègre le génie biomédical et la conception de patins pour créer des patins de hockey sur mesure. Le projet commença lorsqu’Anne-Laure commença à examiner des occasions auprès d’entreprises alors qu’elle terminait son doctorat à la Polytechnique de Montréal.

Décoder le code génétique des athlètes de haut niveau

Comme ancien athlète universitaire et détenteur d’un doctorat en biochimie et biologie moléculaire, Jeremy a toujours eu une passion équilibrée entre le sport et sa profession de chercheur en génétique. L’idée de combiner les deux dans une entreprise a commencé à prendre forme pendant un stage Mitacs Accélération.

Cultiver la créativité des enfants

Kibooco (abréviation de Kids’ Book Company) est une jeune entreprise technologique qui a pour mission de stimuler la créativité des enfants en mettant à leur disposition dans Internet des outils de conception de livres d’histoires virtuels et physiques. Pour remédier au manque de ressources en recherche auquel font souvent face les petites entreprises, Kibooco s’est tournée vers le programme Mitacs-Accélération pour obtenir du soutien et de l’expertise. C’est ainsi qu’elle a trouvé Allen.

Projeté au cœur du Quartier des spectacles

L’entreprise, qui conçoit, produit et communique des expériences commerciales, évènementielles, muséales et artistiques pour toucher, émerveiller et surprendre, se spécialise dans le design d’expériences la production et la projection d’imagerie vivante et de paysages sonores. Inspirée par les possibilités offertes par l’ensemble architectural dynamique dédié aux arts et à la culture nouvellement implanté au cœur du centre-ville de Montréal, Réalisations souhaite y faire la démonstration de son savoir-faire reconnu mondialement.